Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Kanye West - 808's and Heartbreak

Such a break from his usual work. As much as I liked the Graduation album, I think this is ever so slightly better. Haunting beats with solid lyrics makes this a 'Must Listen'. A lot of people think this is one of his worst records, but if you really give it a chance, I think you'll love it. It's pretty clear Kanye was going through a very tough time in his life, and the music reflects that. If you're just a pop music fan, this might not be for you - but if you're a real hip hop enthusiast, sit back and enjoy.

1. Say You Will
2. Welcome To Heartbreak
3. Heartless
4. Amazing
5. Love Lockdown
6. Paranoid
7. RoboCop
8. Street Lights
9. Bad News
10. See You In My Nightmares
11. Coldest Winter

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. See You In My Nightmare
2. Amazin
3. Say You Will

Overall Rating:
4.5 out of 5 Stars


  1. I think West's own classification of this as a "pop" album speaks volumes about the content. I, myself, was not impressed by the overuse of autotune and synthpop. Though each song is different, they all blur together and begin to sound the same to me. I look to Kanye to rap...not sing.

  2. Thanks for the comments Amp...

    I'm not a huge fan of the autotune either. And his classification of pop, is semi meaningless to my ear drum. When you look at prior work, the most poppish of tracks are those like Good Life, Stronger, Gold Digger etc... The only tracks that could really see pop air play are Love Lockdown and Heartless - and lyrically those are substantial upgrades for Kanye. Having said that, I dislike those songs quite a bit. I've always been a big fan when artists go and try something new, and I think Kanye did that here. I'd like to think for the first time in his career he was speaking truly from the heart and it created something deeper and and more substantial than he's had since maybe Jesus Walks.