Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Shelby Lynne - Revelation Road

New Music Tuesday kicks in with a little Shelby Lynne. Now, I suspect most of you have no idea who this lady is. Completely fine - you probably wouldn't have had any reason to know who she is. I only know her from an early 2000's soundtrack contribution 'Wall In Your Heart' that was oddly on the 'Orange County' soundtrack with Jack Black. I'm not sure I ever actually saw that movie, but I recall that song being on the trailer. Regardless, Shelby was actually born in Quantico, Virginia. There is nothing in Quantico, other than a lot of military and federal agency headquarters. She moved to Alabama shortly after being born, in which she lived in an increasingly abusive household. Her father ended up shooting and killing her mother, and himself when Shelby was 17 years old. Just one year after her parents death, she appeared on the TV program, "Nashville Now". Soon after making that appearance, she was signed to Epic Records. She continued to toil in the mediocrity for a decade plus, until she hit it big with a 1999 album release and subsequent contribution to the 'Bridget Jones' soundtrack. She was named "Best New Artist" in 1999, even though she'd been working in the business for years. This is Shelby's twelfth studio recording, and none of her albums have done particularly well commercially. This is her second drop on her own label, Everso Records. In terms of style, she's a vocalist. Very small arrangements typically, just an acoustic guitar and then maybe a slight drum beat. Very faint though. I like her voice - it's not super unique or amazing, but it's nice. Something comforting about the way she sings. But in terms of this album - it simply lacks anything that would make you think twice. Certainly not bad, but I'd really have to be in that slow music mood for it, and even then I'd probably rather listen to about 10 other records. It's worth checking out, just don't expect the world.

1. Revelation Road
2. I'll Hold Your Hand
3. Even Angels
4. Lead Me Love
5. The Thief
6. Woebegone
7. I Want To Go Back
8. I Don't Need A Reason To Cry
9. Toss It All Aside
10. Heaven's Only Days Down The Road
11. I Won't Leave You

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Even Angels
2. Lead Me Love
3. The Thief

2.25 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment