Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Kelly Rowland - Here I Am

Boo yah! New Music Tuesday is here and ready to rumble. With an artist most of you are probably familiar with - and a track that's been blowing up pop/hip hop stations all over the United States of America. I think we all recall Miss Rowland from the late 90's iconic pop group, Destiny's Child. Her and Beyonce were super tight. Well - Kelly is 30 years old and how moving on to her solo career. This is her third studio recording, but her first with new management. She's not with Universal Republic Records, and hoping to make music that more suits where she is in life, and in her career. She claims this record is going to be more uptempo and mixture of a lot of different sounds. There are a couple hot club tracks here - including a David Guetta produced track - 'Commander'. This album runs through various styles - it's got a little R&B, hip hop, pop and dance music all wrapped up into one. I'm not sure how well the album flows top to bottom, but what do I know. 'Motivation' has been blowing up the billboard charts as of late - and I'll admit, for me it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. It's an over-the-top sexy type track, that has lyrics that might make some porn stars blush a little. What is odd though, is I very much prefer this sound versus her club tracks. It'll probably end up being my top rated songs because a) I love Weezy and b) it's not the club track that I'd rather hear from my Techno Tuesday installments. All in all - this record is pretty average. I didn't have high expectations of it, and it about met them. I think she has a ton of talent, I'm just not sure what her wheelhouse is. Great voice, great look - but the music hasn't yet matched either.

1. I'm Dat Chick
2. Work It Man
3. Motivation
4. Lay It On Me
5. Feelin Me Right Now
6. Turn It Up
7. All Of The Night
8. Keep It Between Us
9. Commander
10. Down For Whatever

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Motivation
2. Commander
3. Lay It On Me

2.5 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment