Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

M.I.A. - /\/\ /\ Y /\

Could it be? New Music Tuesday and Techno Tuesday rolled into one?? If that's not a sign that today's going to be a good day - I don't know what is. Good ol' M.I.A. You probably have heard her monstrous single 'Paper Planes', if not on the radio, then on the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack. If you have never heard anything about her, she was born in Sri Lanka, and found herself displaced for a while at the beginning of her life due to the Sri Lankan civil war. She moved all over the world after the war escalated going as far as China and then back to London. She started her career by being an artist - usually painting things in a graffiti style. She moved over to music dropping her first record in 2005. She is very political in her music at times and her art, which a lot of people dig. I can't say I'm a big fan of that stuff typically in music. Not being a big political person, someone trying to convey their agenda to sell albums makes me a little angry. But, what are ya gonna do? Maya herself called this new record 'schizophrenic' and I couldn't agree more. This is all over the place lyrically, emotionally and really confuses your ear. It's like blending a political message with hard hitting electronic beats and the repetition (at times) of a rave house mix. I'll probably listen to it a few more times, but off the top it's a little too odd for me to go to regularly. I enjoyed her last album a lot, and I don't think this one is as good. Check it out though, it's got a neat feel to it during certain tracks.

1. The Message
2. Steppin Up (Album Version)
4. Teqkilla
5. Lovalot
6. Story To Be Told
7. It Takes A Muscle
8. It Iz What It Iz
9. Born Free
10. Meds And Feds
11. Tell Me Why
12. Space
13. Internet Connection
14. Illygirl
15. Believer
16. Caps Lock

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Born Free
2. It Takes A Muscle
3. Xxxo

2.75 out of 5 stars

1 comment:

    Who You Gonna Call
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208 323 8080

    Hi TBS,

    On behalf of XL Recordings and M.I.A, many thanks for plugging "Maya" on your site (the newly released album by M.I.A) ... .. thanks, also, on behalf of the artist and label for not posting any pirate links to unreleased (studio) material and, if you / your readers want good quality, non-pirated, preview tracks, then full length versions of Stepping Up and the remix of XXXO featuring Jay Z are available via the artist’s MySpace ... .. for further details of the new album, on-line promotions, videos and 2010 shows, check-out the official site at, as well as the artist's MySpace at and YouTube channel at ... .. and keep an eye on these official sources for details of further news, preview material and on-line promotions.

    Also and as a goodwill gesture to fans and bloggers, an exclusive preview stream of the full album is currently available via M.I.A’s MySpace and, similarly, a widget for the album stream shall also shortly be available from the artist’s official site ... this is for hyper-linking ONLY and for streaming by fans via the artist’s site and MySpace, so please reciprocate this goodwill gesture by NOT ripping and re-posting these files.

    With Thanks & Regards,