Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Monday, August 8, 2011

Adam Lambert - For Your Entertainment

I think I've made it pretty clear I'm not a fan of the 'American Idol' program. And although a couple artists have gone on to have great success in the business from the show, I think in general they don't produce true, long standing artists. They basically produce someone that will generate enough buzz to sell one album or two. Lambert here was yet another "star" that didn't actually win the show, but made the final two. I now consider myself beyond an expert on his music and life, since I watched his 'Behind The Music' special last night. He struggled with the show because it was so public, and he hadn't made clear that he was homosexual before the show began. For some reason, he says he didn't want to come out public with it because it was his own business - but he wasn't ashamed of it. My honest opinion is, he didn't feel he could get enough votes to win if he officially came out during the show. Sad state of the US if that's the case, but regardless - it's done. He came out immediately following his loss on the show, and before he made this album and started touring. He released this in late 2009 and is certified gold in the US. He generated more buzz by posing in a magazine with a nude woman, and was basically called out by a homosexual based publication for not showcasing his sexuality or trying to cover it up. Lambert was pretty upset over that, and proceeded to be lewd at the American Music Awards as a follow up. That caused more controversy - but whatever. It wasn't all that entertaining of a story. The bottom line is, the guy has a lot of energy and has a vocal that's pretty easily identifiable. Problem is, his music isn't worth while. At least not this record. It's half poppy/half rock and then a sprinkle of misplaced anger and flamboyance. Maybe his sophomore drop will contain more substance, but I doubt it. And I'm sure by 2015, he'll fade into obscurity like the rest of the "Idols".

1. Music Again
2. For Your Entertainment
3. Whataya Want From Me
4. Strut
5. Soaked
6. Sure Fire Winners
7. A Loaded Smile
8. If I Had You
9. Pick U Up
10. Fever
11. Sleepwalker
12. Aftermath
13. Broken Open
14. Time For Miracles

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Time For Miracles
2. Soaked
3. Whataya Want From Me

1.5 out of 5 stars


  1. Just not enough substance for me here. I guess the kid has some talent, just needs to show it on the next drop.