Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Monday, May 16, 2011

Chickenfoot - Self Titled

Since I've been running through a steady stream of "supergroups", I might as well continue the trend. And with this band, I'd never even heard of them until they did a special in the HD music channel, Paladia. All of the sudden I flip it on, and see Sammy Hagar performing what looks to be a current stage and venue. Finding out it was the band Chickenfoot, and finding out it's two old Van Halen members, one Red Hot Chili Peppers and then the timeless Joe Satriani. Hagar states they're not a super group, but just a bunch of guys that like to hang out, who make music, and happen to have been in other groups. Whatever Sam. Chickenfoot is another name for a peace sign, which is shown in the album cover. They also started calling themselves that in jest, and then the press got a hold of it - and the name just stuck. It all started at Hagar's club in Mexico, and they haven't really put it down since. Chad Smith from RHCP left to work with them again briefly, but returned to record a second Chickenfoot record due out this year sometime. There isn't a lot of other information that you guys need to know. In terms of style, they're pretty much just a straight up rock type band. Some of it might be a little heavier, but not enough to call it metal. Like most supergroups, this album isn't amazing. For whatever reason, a bunch of stars can't get together and make really good music. I don't get it. Anyways, it isn't terrible, but it's not worth listening to really. You might tap your toes here and there, but when the day is said and done, it's pretty forgettable.

1. Avenida Revolution
2. Soap On A Rope
3. Sexy Little Thing
4. Oh Yeah
5. Runnin' Out
6. Get It Up
7. Down The Drain
8. My Kinda Girl
9. Learning To Fall
10. Turnin' Left
11. Future In The Past

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Future Is The Past
2. Learning To Fall
3. Soap On A Rope

3 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment