Song of the Moment

J. Cole - Lost Ones

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Autechre - Move Of Ten

The last couple Techno Tuesday entries have been a different brand of techno. Aphex and now Autechre are more of that industrial beat machine type dance, not lyrical and certainly not meant for the pop masses. It goes back to that IDM label (intelligent dance music) that I brought up last week. This EP/album came out just this year. Autochre is a group of guys that like to mix up styles quite a bit, and there is some speculation as to that being the reason they titled this record as such. Move Of Ten could be because it's the year 2010, it has 10 tracks or because they're 'moving on' from the style of their 10th album. Either way, give this a go. I do know that die hard fans of this band complain about them dropping so many little EP's that are only a few songs and don't live up to the main attractions. Well, I don't think that could be an issue here. Even though it's only 10 tracks, it translates into almost 60 minutes worth of tuneage. And I can't compare it to previous works (since I don't know anything else by them yet), but the only thing that could be old is this is VERY percussion heavy. If you're more into the standard bass beat, you're going to get a lot of snare hits and other instruments one wouldn't necessarily expect in a dance record. Anyway, I'll close it by of course saying to listen and then let me know what you think. It's by no means great, but it's something beatnuts could jam to.

1. Etchogon-S
2. y7
3. pce freeze 2.8i
4. rew (1)
5. nth Dafuseder.b
6. Iris Was a Pupil
7. No Border
8. M62
9. ylm0
10. Cep puiqMX

Listen To Samples

Top 3 Tracks:
1. Etchogon-S
2. nth Dafuseder.b
3. y7

2.75 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment